Benefice of Somerton

  • Church Web Office
  • Somerton
  • Somerset
  • TA11 6RW

Email Us

St Michael's Somerton

St Michael's, Somerton

St Michael and All Angels Church is located in the heart of Somerton, the 'Ancient Royal Town of Wessex'. Parts of the church building date from the early 13th century, whilst other parts have been added as recently as 2004. The building underwent a major internal refurbishment in 2012 and 2013. 

 As well as housing regular worship for all ages and being a tranquil place for prayer, the church is also used for concerts and other community events especially during the annual Somerton Arts Festival and the Music @ St Michaels series between October and May

Details of Services can be found on  page of this website.

There are of course  additional services in the churches of the Benefice on Sundays.

Details of services can be found on the Services page on this website.

Following the recent interviews and the recommendation of the Parish representatives, we are pleased to announce that the Bishop has appointed the Reverend Judith Swan to the post of Priest in Charge of the Parishes of Somerton, The Charltons, Kingsdon, Long Sutton and Long Load and Pitney. This appointment is subject to a satisfactory completion of the usual statutory checks made on all clergy taking up a new post.

Details of a Service of Welcome will be announced in due course.    


 Church Address: Market Square, Somerton, TA11 7NB

St Michael's Somerton

Church Wardens

Rodger Calderwood 01458 270132

Mary Ann Pike-  01458 272932

Director of Music  

James Turner - 01458 270096

 email click here

Parish Safeguarding Officer
Irene Stone  more information on Safeguarding Page

PCC Members

The priest-in-charge and churchwardens are ex-officio members of the PCC.

Geoff Bryant
Jacky Calderwood
Rodger Calderwood
Martyn Cave
John Saunders
Pauline Saunders
David Speed
Irene Stone
Graham Taylor
James Turner
Jan Turner
Rowena Wallace
Patricia Allen

Worship Committee

Committee Membership:
James Turner (Convener), Rodger Calderwood (Secretary),  (Priest-in-charge), 
Jan Turner (PCC), Alan Hilborne (Verger), Joy Rattenbury(Lay Worship Assistant), Audrey Stanford (Lay Worship Assistant)Graham Taylor (PCC).

Social Committee

Committee Membership:
David Speed (Convenor), Churchwardens, Janet Hayter, Jacky Calderwood, Irene Stone,  Marion Hilborne(co-opted), Mary-Ann Pike(co-opted), Graham and Jean Taylor(co-opted).

Church Representatives

Churches Together in Somerton
Irene Stone, Rowena Wallace, James Turner

Deanary Synod
 James Turner

Other Positions of Office

Benefice Administrator
Geraldine Taylor - 01458 273499 or 07483137623

Church Treasurer
Irene Stone - 
01458 272291

PCC Secretary
David Speed - 01458 272907

'Contact' Magazine Editor and Website Coordinator
James Turner - 01458 270096

Tower Captain
John Hayter - 01458 272002