Benefice of Somerton, Charltons and Kingsdon

Diocesan Prayer Diary

Diocese of Bath and Wells Prayer Calendar
October 2020

 

 

Thursday, 1 October

As church and school Harvest Festivals continue through this month we pray that we would be enabled to effectively support our agricultural community, who have stewardship of the land.

Friday, 2 October

Today we pray for the participants of the diocese’s ‘Exploring Spirituality’ course as they continue their journey of exploration.

Saturday, 3 October

We pray for those Readers being licensed today and for those who support them. The Annual Readers’ Service will be different this year so pray for all those taking part but also those who are unable to attend this special service.

Sunday, 4 October

As the church celebrates the life of St. Francis of Assisi, we pray the Franciscan principles of love, humility and joy would be present in all our lives.

Monday, 5 October

During this, Black History Month, we pray for the Black Lives Matter movement and all those who are oppressed or who live in fear due to their skin colour.

Tuesday, 6 October

As we remember the work of William Tyndale, we pray for all those still involved in missionary work, especially those who work on language projects and Bible translation.

Wednesday, 7 October

On this, national poetry day, we pray for all those who serve us with words of encouragement and words of creative inspiration.

Thursday, 8 October

We pray today for all those in our diocese who work in hospice care or palliative care environments. We pray for God’s care for the carers.

Friday, 9 October

This day, Father, may my eyes be opened to see the beauty in all that is ordinary - yet special - around me. May the glory of all that you have made remind me of your presence and lead me closer to you.

Saturday, 10 October

On this, world mental health day, we pray for those who suffer with ill mental health. May God bring healing to body, mind and spirit.

Sunday, 11 October

As the church celebrates James the Deacon, we pray for our deacons and everyone who focuses on a life of service to the church.

Monday, 12 October

Today we remember the life and work of Elizabeth Fry, prison reformer. We pray for all those who work in prisons and with ex-offenders and for those who provide halfway houses and jobs.

Tuesday, 13 October

O God of Creation, you have blessed us with the changing of the seasons. Remind us to take time to rest. Remind us of the wonder of your creation. Remind us that it is you who give us the breath of life.

Wednesday, 14 October

Today we pray for our church buildings and those who look after them, especially our churchwardens.

Thursday, 15 October

As the church celebrates the life of Teresa of Avila, we pray for those involved in promoting health and wellbeing. We also pray for those involved in healing ministry across the diocese.

Friday, 16 October

God of the seasons, there is a time for everything; there is a time for dying and a time for rising. Give us courage to enter into the transformation process.

Saturday, 17 October

On this, Child Poverty Day, we pray for children around the world who do not have enough to eat, satisfactory accommodation or safety.

Sunday, 18 October – Luke the Evangelist

As the church celebrates St Luke, we continue to pray for those working in the NHS. Also for care givers who are at home or in other contexts, may God bring them energy, patience and a loving spirit.

Monday, 19 October

God of misty days and harvest moon nights, there is always the dimension of mystery and wonder in our lives. May we always recognize your power-filled presence.

Tuesday, 20 October

Today we pray for all the pupil chaplains in the diocese. We praise God for their commitment to helping and supporting their peers.

Wednesday, 21 October

Breathe in me, O Holy Spirit, that my thoughts may all be holy. Act in me, O Holy Spirit, that my work, too, may be holy. Draw my heart, O Holy Spirit, that I love but what is holy. Strengthen me, O Holy Spirit, to defend all that is holy. Guard me, then, O Holy Spirit, that I always may be holy.

Thursday, 22 October

God of geese going south for another season, your wisdom enables us to know what needs to be left behind and what needs to be carried into the future. We yearn for insight and vision.

Friday, 23 October

Today we pray for all those who have not been able to return to work post lockdown. May God bring them comfort and clarity for the future.

Saturday, 24 October

Thanks be to thee, my Lord Jesus Christ, for all the benefits thou hast given me, for all the pains and insults thou hast borne for me. O most merciful redeemer, friend and brother, may I know thee more clearly, love thee more dearly, and follow thee more nearly, day by day. Amen.

Sunday, 25 October

Almighty God, your Holy Spirit equips the Church with a rich variety of gifts: grant that we may use them to bear witness to Christ by lives built on faith and love. Amen.

Monday, 26 October

We pray for families who are on half term break this week. May God bring rest and recuperation to tired bodies and minds.

Tuesday, 27 October

We continue to pray for everyone working in the entertainment industry and especially for those who continue to have little or no work.

Wednesday, 28 October – Simon and Jude, Apostles

Today we pray for deanery synod and DMPG meetings, for their leadership and for the ongoing development of plans for mission across our diocese.

 

Thursday, 29 October

Today we pray for the Very Revd Dr John Davies, Dean of Wells and all those who serve within the cathedral community. May God use them all to serve a holy purpose. 

Friday, 30 October

Today we pray for the diocesan vocations team as they journey with those discerning their future role within the church.

 

Saturday, 31 October

On the eve of All Hallows, we pray for the safety of all those who are out in their neighbourhoods.